In Arizona, the law sets several designations for punishment levels for driving under the influence. One of those is an extreme DUI.
The category of DUI you get will impact your potential punishment or sentencing for the charge. The Arizona Department of Transportation explains for a charge to fall under the designation of extreme DUI, it means your blood alcohol level at the time of the incident was 0.15 or higher.
When you receive an extreme DUI for the first time, you will face mandatory punishment. You will have at least 30 days in jail that you must serve in full consecutively. You also must pay a fine of at least $2,500. At this level, you will have to install an ignition interlock device, perform community service and complete alcohol treatment or education. You also will undergo alcohol screenings.
Once you have one extreme DUI charge, the punishments get harsher. You will still have to use an ignition interlock device, complete community service, pass alcohol screenings, and complete alcohol education or treatment. In addition, the jail time you will serve at a minimum is 120 days, and you will pay a fine of at least $3,250. You also will lose your license for 12 months.
Keep in mind that the level at which your charges apply depends on your blood alcohol level. You cannot negotiate which level you are charged, and you cannot negotiate the punishment. These are mandatory by law. The court can sentence you will higher jail times and fines, but it cannot reduce them.