EXPERIENCED. TRUSTED. AGGRESSIVE.

EXPERIENCED. TRUSTED. AGGRESSIVE.

What are the DUI penalties in Arizona?

On Behalf of | Aug 2, 2021 | DUI Charges | 0 comments

According to the Arizona Department of Public Safety, the state takes driving under the influence (DUI) very seriously. As a result, all motorists should understand the laws surrounding intoxicated driving.

You should also know the exact penalties that await should you receive a DUI charge. Here are a few things to keep in mind.

First offense

When it comes to fines, first DUI offenses entail a $250 base fine. Jail terms range from a minimum of 24 hours up to ten days. Those convicted must have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle, which is the case for all subsequent offenses.

Second offense

Jail terms range from 30 to 90 days by the second offense. Fines start at $500 and the license suspension period can last one year.

Third offense

Third DUI offenses require a minimum jail term of four months. License suspension lasts one year, while fines start at $750.

Penalties for refusing a chemical test

If law enforcement pulls you over and suspects you of driving while intoxicated, they will request you take a chemical test to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC).

Drivers over the age of 21 with a BAC of .08% or greater can receive a DUI charge. For drivers under 21, any BAC level over .00% can receive a DUI charge. If you refuse testing when requested, your license is automatically suspended on the first offense. Subsequent offenses can receive a license suspension of no more than two years.

Your BAC increases with every drink you consume. However, how quickly you become intoxicated can also depend on your weight and the potency of the alcohol you are consuming. If you know you are going to drink, arrange for a designated driver or call a ride-share to ensure your safety.