Arizona law defines assault as the attempt to injure another person or the threat to do so.
As FindLaw explains, Arizona breaks ordinary assault into three classes. In order to convict you, the prosecutor must prove that you did the following:
- Class 1 – Knowingly, recklessly or intentionally caused your alleged victim physical injury
- Class 2 – Intentionally placed your alleged victim in fear of imminent physical injury
- Class 3 – Knowingly touched your alleged victim with the intent of injuring, provoking or insulting him or her
Ordinary assault penalties
All three classes of ordinary assault are misdemeanors, with conviction penalties as follows:
- Class 1 – Maximum 6-month jail sentence and maximum $2,500 fine
- Class 2 – Maximum 4-month jail sentence and maximum $750 fine
- Class 3 – Maximum 30-day jail sentence and maximum $500 fine
In addition to the three classes of misdemeanor assault, Arizona law also provides for aggravated assault, a felony. Aggravated assault represents a more serious charge than ordinary assault, and the prosecutor must prove at least one of the following to convict you:
- You committed an ordinary assault on a law enforcement officer, prison guard, prosecutor, teacher or other public servants.
- You used a deadly weapon or other dangerous implements to intentionally put your alleged victim in fear of imminent fear of serious physical injury.
- You caused your alleged victim substantial disfigurement or other serious physical injuries.
Aggravated assault has four classes, Class 2 to Class 5, depending on the circumstances surrounding it. An aggravated assault conviction carries substantial penalties. If classified as a “dangerous offense,” jail time is mandatory. Even as a first offense, you could spend up to 15 years in prison.