Across Yavapai County and around the state of Arizona, people are preparing to celebrate the unofficial end of summer this coming Labor Day weekend. As always, there will be plenty of picnics with friends and family – and plenty of DUI arrests over the three-day weekend.
Law enforcement agencies from Prescott Valley to Phoenix to Patagonia – and all the cities and towns in between – will see extra officers and patrol vehicles out on the streets looking for drunk drivers.
Many of our readers will undoubtedly remember that last year’s Labor Day crackdown resulted in dozens upon dozens of DUI arrests across Arizona: 468 for misdemeanor DUI and an additional 63 busted for felony DUI, according to news outlets.
It should be noted that there were also 123 arrests for DUI-drugs. According to reports, the average BAC (blood alcohol content) in the drunk driving arrests was .15 percent, or twice Arizona’s legal limit of .08 percent.
Two years ago, the results were similar: 490 DUI arrests and more than four dozen arrested for aggravated drunk driving. A Phoenix radio station reported that 114 of those taken into custody that Labor Day weekend were charged with extreme DUI (cases in which the driver’s BAC was tested at .15 percent or more).
As a reminder, here are penalties for DUI convictions:
- DUI: a first offense typically means you’ll be jailed for no less than 10 consecutive days and fined a minimum of $1,250.
- Extreme DUI: a first offense can mean no less than 30 consecutive days in jail and a fine of at least $2,500. A second offense means a minimum of 120 consecutive days in jail and a fine of $3,250 or more.
- Aggravated DUI: a conviction in this category means a license revocation of one year and up to two years in a state prison.
If you have been charged with DUI in Yavapai County or surrounding areas, contact an attorney who fights to protect your rights, your freedom and your driving privileges at every step of the legal process.